Kosher Meat and Poultry Jewish Foods

Home | About Us | Submit a Recipe | New Recipes | Links
Kosher Grocery Store | Kitchenware | Judaica | Free Offer | Sale | Search Jewish Foods

Jewish Foods

Jewish Recipes
Kosher Recipes
Jewish Cooking Terms
Jewish Foods
Jewish Spices
Jewish Cookbooks
Dairy
Meat
Parve
Baba Ganoush
Bagels
Blintz
Challah
Charoset
Cholent
Etrog
Farfel
Falafel
Gefilte Fish
Hamantaschen
Hummus
Jewish Holidays
Knish
Kosher Recipes
Kosher Wines
Kugel
Latkes
Lox (salmon)
Matzah
Pita
Sufganiya
Tzimmes

Jewish Cooking

Judaica
Kitchenware
Kosher Symbols
What is Kosher ?
What is a hechsher?

Page Options

Send

Jewish Recipes: Copyright - Disclaimer

Add us to your favorites

Bh

Kosher Meat and Poultry
hechsher from a reliable source to be kosher

Meat: The Torah states that kosher mammals are those which chew their cud (ruminants) and are cloven-hoofed. The following animal species are among those considered to be Kosher:

Meat

Poultry

  • Addax
  • American Bison
  • Antelope
    (all species)
  • Caribou
  • Cow / Beef
  • Deer
    (all species)
  • Gazelle
  • Giraffe
  • Goat
  • Ibex
  • Lamb
  • Moose
  • Ox
  • Pronghorn
  • Reindeer
  • Sheep
  • Water Buffalo
  • Veal
  • Chicken
  • Cornish Hens
  • Dove
  • Duck
  • Goose
  • Grouse
  • Guinea fowl
  • Partridge
  • Peafowl
  • Pheasant
  • Pigeon
  • Prairie chicken
  • Ptarmigan
  • Quail
  • Sagehen
  • Sparrow
    (and other songbirds)
  • Swan
  • Teal
  • Turkey

Smoked Meats

  • Brisket
  • Chopped Liver
  • Corned Beef
  • Kishke
  • Meatballs
  • Meat Cholent
  • Pastrami

Kosher Wine
Food not in accord with Jewish law is termed treifah or treif; the term originally referred to animals (from a kosher species such as cattle or sheep) which had been either incorrectly slaughtered or mortally wounded by wild beasts and therefore were not fit for human consumption. Among Sephardim, it typically only refers to meat that is not kosher.